Award-Winning Books

The Caldecott Medal

Awarded annually to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

Clel Bell Award

An annual recognition of five high-quality picture books that provide excellent support of early literacy development in young children.

The Coretta Scott King Awards

Recognizes outstanding books for young adults and children by African American authors and illustrators that reflect the African American experience.

EB White Read-Aloud Award

Picture books and middle grade books selected for their universal appeal as terrific books to read aloud.

Maryland Black Eyed Susan Award

A student choice award for the state of Maryland featuring picture books, fiction, nonfiction, and graphic novels for grades K-12. 

Maryland Blue Crab Young Reader Award

Honoring the best fiction and nonfiction books published for beginning readers (grades K-2) and transitional readers (grades 2-4).

The Morris Award

The Morris Award icon


Honors a book published by a first-time author writing for teens and celebrating impressive new voices in young adult literature.

The National Book Awards

Honoring the best Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, Translated Literature, and Young People’s Literature published each year.

The Newbery Medal

Awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

The Odyssey Award

The Odyssey Award icon


Honors the best audiobook produced that year for children and/or young adults.

The Printz Award

Awarded annually to a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature.

The Pura Belpré Award

Presented annually to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.

The Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal

Sibert Award icon


Awarded to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished informational book for children and/or young adults published during the preceding year.

The Schneider Family Award

Honors an author or illustrator for a book that embodies an artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences.

The Scott O’Dell Award

Recognizes an author for a work of historical fiction published in the previous year for children or young adults.

The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award

Awarded annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year.